Make Your Breathing Work for You

I have been thinking about my breathing patterns on my runs lately. I never thought about it before, but now I feel like I need to have better control of how I breathe while I run. I recently came across a blog post, Harnessing the Power of Breathwork, explaining how breathing patterns can affect your happiness and effectiveness of your workout. I guess this is a topic that others are concerned about also.

The post explains how taking longer, slower breaths calms you emotional and psychological state. When we purposely double the length of our inhale and exhale, we are telling our bodies we are calm. Being mindful of your breathing patterns allows you to control your response to stressful situations. Brittany Risher notes slower breathing increases energy, regulates mood and stress and can boost your mood.

So I decided to pay more attention to when my breathing felt heavy and rapid. I noticed that when I was stressed, tired or during physical activity. Living in such a fast paced world, it’s easy to forget simple things like how we breathe. I enjoyed reading this article because it sheds light on the importance of monitoring your own stress levels and tips on how to improve your habits.

After following some of the blog’s suggestions, I already felt calm and serene. I am excited to try these techniques on my next run. These breathing techniques are second nature to yoga and meditation enthusiasts. Trying some of these strategies out is an easy and effective way to reap some of the benefits.  Check this blog out for more ways to practice healthy habits!

download

myfitnesspal.com

Leave a Reply

