Why Should You Put Down The Cereal?

When I was a freshman, one of my holy grail foods was cereal.  I never ever went a day without having a box in my dorm room. Boxed cereal is an extremely convenient and easy breakfast and snack, that I would literally eat several times a day because I assumed it was healthy and I was doing good for my body. Cereals have so many claims all over the boxes making it extremely misleading that there is an abundant amount of hidden sugars. Breakfast cereal is basically made just from processed grain.  All of the added sugar is the culprit to so many people unable to figure out why they aren’t loosing weight or why they’re gaining weight.

colorful-breakfast-cereal-in-a-bowl
https://authoritynutrition.com/are-breakfast-cereals-healthy/

Not only is cereal the only culprit but it is all processed foods of that sort, such as granola bars such as Belvittas. These may be tasty and quick but I am here to tell you that there are other options.

nutlabel-3272107_10315_3800001767
https://fafh.com/home/productprint/7014

Now that Halloween is over, I’m sure most of you are looking for a new sweet alternative. Have no fear! I am here with a recipe that will blow your mind.  It is so sweet and is guaranteed to satisfy all of your cravings.  It is also extremely healthy and will give you energy to go about your day.  I make this all the time at school and eat them as dessert, breakfast, and just a snack when I need to a boost through out the day.  Put down the three musketeers and pick up these amazing muffins!

Muffins are an easy, portable breakfast choice that is great when you are on the run to class. Don’t be tempted to get a coffee cake muffin from Dunkin that is packed with sugar and oils. Put down the sugary cereals that you think are healthy for you. If you have morning classes like me, and are nothing but cranky when you wake up than you need these mood boosters. Make these muffins to get you’re through a crazy week of school! This is my healthy oatmeal muffin recipe! I’ve tried a ton of different recipes and concocted my own that I hope you love as much as I do! Try this recipe as a convenient and nutritious option to bring into your every day routine.

It may seem like we are making a protein bar, but don’t be alarmed these are as sweet as can be and ridiculously healthy. The next best thing about this recipie is that you can add whatever you want in it.  Sometimes I put chocolate chips in, blueberries, and other fruits to sweeten it up!

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Total time: 30 minutes

One thing I’ve learned when it comes to eating healthy, is that foods with ingredients you know how to pronounce.  Look at your fruity cereal and try to figure out what half of those ingredients mean. The ingredients for my muffins include:

  • 2 ½ oats: when you place this in your food processor the oats become finely milled to give it an almost “flour-like” texture
  • 1-3 over ripe bananas: keep the muffins moist instead of using butter or oil
  • 2/3 cup honey: Substitute from sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • Walnuts: add a crunch
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • ¾ cup milk
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ cup walnuts

Instructions:

  • While gathering your ingredients, preheat your over to 350 degrees. Place your oats in a food processor to finely grind them up as small as they can get.
  • This step is great for getting anger out anger! Mash up the bananas with a fork until you simply cannot mash them up anymore.
  • Add all of your ingredients together and mix them up until they are a perfect consistency.
  • Place them in your muffin tin, and drizzle walnuts, and chocolate chips on top of the muffins. Bake for about 25 minutes and enjoy!

I hope you all take the time to try my healthy muffins out. They’re quick and easy and can be made in the same amount of time you can watch an episode of Friends.  Take the healthier step by not buy processed foods; just make them yourself!

Peace, Love and DDP,

Paige Epstein

 

Leave a Reply

