Resumes: Get Help

In about two weeks, we will travel home for Thanksgiving break. Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday. Between the food, football and time spent with friends and family, what’s there not to love? Well, every Thanksgiving I find myself answering the same questions that I most definitely do not love.

“How’s school going?”

“Do you know what you want to do after graduation?”

“How’s the internship/job hunt going?”

While I appreciate the concern and attention of my family and friends, sometimes these questions are overwhelming because sometimes I just do not know the answers. However, last Thanksgiving I felt more confident answering these questions because I finally had a resume. There was something about putting my accomplishments on paper that made me feel more prepared to face my relatives. If you do have a resume, good for you. If you do not, no worries. JMU offers many resources to help you develop the document.

Before you begin . . .

  • Before you begin, it is a good idea to attend a Resume Writing Workshop. This one-hour introduction to writing resumes will provide you with all the information you need to begin writing your own. No RSVP is required to attend the workshop. The next workshop will be held on November 30 at 1:30pm.

Once you’ve written your resume . . .

  • Walk-In Hours with Career Educators: Career Educators are a volunteer group of JMU students who can look over your resume once you have completed it. You can drop off your resume during walk-in hours or schedule an appointment with a Career Educator.
  • Resume Review: Walk-In Resume Reviews happen at various locations on JMU’s campus throughout the year. These involve a 10-15 minute meeting with a Career and Academic Planning adviser. Be sure to bring a copy of your resume with you to the meeting, and know that resumes are reviewed in the order they are received.
  • Resume Appointments: Schedule an appointment for a 30 minute individual meeting with a Career and Academic Planning adviser. Be sure to bring a copy of your resume with you.

Personally, I have taken advantage of two of these resources. As a freshman, I attended a resume workshop with my friend. It sparked my interest in writing a resume and taught me a lot about where to begin. Additionally, I scheduled an appointment with a Career and Academic Planning adviser for a 30 minute individual meeting last year. The adviser provided so much feedback on my resume. I took this feedback and revised my resume. This led to me getting two internships last summer. I promise these resources do work!

Take advantage of these resources so you can feel confident talking about school and the job hunt around the table this Thanksgiving. Good luck!

Peace, Love & DDP

Steph

 

 

Leave a Reply

